The Time to Come


This past Saturday, I was on the other side of the camera (well sort of) with TJ and Margaret… dressed in 20s attire! Cari Phillips and Katlyn Moncada recruited us to be their models for a class project and we were happy to oblige. If someone is asking me to dress up for them in themed garb (from my favorite clothing era, no less) then I am bound to say yes.
Saturday afternoon rolled around and we drove…to the scariest house I have EVER been in. You have no idea. I will not say too much because I don’t want my mom and dad inquiring about why I was in some scary house in the first place with four other friends and umpteen cameras.
Things were going real nice and the photos were turning out quite pretty until TJ was standing in the doorway and HE HEARD FOUR FOOTSTEPS and declared it was time for us to, as my dad says, “blow this place.” We scurried like I have never scurried before in those red Mary Janes of mine. Moral of the story no. 1: DO. NOT. GO. IN. SCARY. HOUSES. FOR. THE. SAKE. OF. PHOTO. PROJECTS (even if they are for Jim Veneman). Honestly, I was hoping an image of a ghost would turn out on my film. Moral of the story no. 2: Go to S&J Grocery instead. They are very nice there.

PRESS PLAY: “Tatted Lace” by Alela Diane…









I used Vogue’s shoot, “The Society Slouch” with Caroline Trentini and Chanel Iman, as my inspiration! I almost wore my sparkly Nando Jones top. Sadly, it didn’t make the cut.
While we are on the subject of Vogue, I would like to announce that I am officially going to be an intern at Billy Reid this summer! I am ecstatic. I recently found some exceptional behind the scenes photos of Billy Reid’s Fall/Winter 2011 collection during NY Fashion Week… see those HERE.

XOXO!

4 Comments

Filed under fashion, for photographers, friends, love, personal, portrait, style

4 responses to “The Time to Come

  1. Love the theme! If you think that’s scary, let me take you to my papaw’s old place 🙂 I did a photo shoot in there…we even climbed up into the attic and thankfully didn’t fall through the ceiling.

  2. gracie ferrell

    You guys take these out in Crockett County? I’ve delivered newspapers at that S&J Grocery store!

Leave a comment